Current Fiber Work

20130305-152128.jpg

Just completed yesterday, here is my current fiber work: “my magic sweater”. I was prompted by my professor to challenge my use of recycled sweaters and create a piece that was deconstructed and to insert reconstructed pieces that I created myself. My concept behind this sweater is the constant search for comfort and security, with a major focus on textures and materials. Each of the pieces I created to add were knitted by hand using white yarn and rope. The center strip of coffee colored fiber was needle felted by hand from raw alpaca shavings to create a sort of handmade yarn.  For more posts on fibers, continue following my blog!

Leave a Reply

