Hassan Sharif

Hassan Sharif

“Iron 2”, Hassan Sharif. Mixed Media. Currently being shown in NYC.

This week, I was lucky enough to visit with artist, Hassan Sharif from Dubai. After looking at my work, studio practices, materials, and thumbing through my sketchbook, he told me he very much appreciated my work. He enjoyed meeting a fellow artist who also used recycled materials, both fiber based and non-fiber. He also loved looking at my drawings, as he appreciated the aesthetic of the sketches.

I very much appreciated the opportunity to talk with an artist who lives and works in Dubai, as it brings a fresh perspective to my work and new ideas with which to work. During our time together he gave me new ideas for fiber works that were based on his culture and the daily lives of women in Dubai. We discussed the tools these women work with each day to fabricate ornamental scarves and ankle scarves, called Tali. I’m looking forward to working on these ideas and seeing how our visit has influenced my work. For those of you who would like to learn more about Sharif, please visit his website: http://www.hassansharif.com

Leave a Reply

