Little Art, Big Processes

Untitled, 2014. Handmade Rope from recycled materials, Found Object

Untitled, 2014. Handmade Rope from recycled materials, Found Object

Studio time was rather rewarding.  A major question I have been determined to answer in my processes was finally solved: how to make handmade rope.  The past two weeks I have spent building my own materials to fabricate this simple, but strong material, and finally my inquiries were rewarded with this bright idea: why not find an object that already moves?

I was fortunate enough to have the idea to use a meat grinder as the mechanism for spinning the materials.   In my practice, I find it very important to recycle materials and give them a new life, so why not recycle a tool?  After screwing a small hook into the opposite wall, I hooked the materials into the meat grinder and began to spin the handle.  Soon enough, the materials were intertwined and constructed the material I have been working so hard to make.  In the image below, you can see a detail shot of the rope and its materials: recycled yarn, daisy chain, and plastic bag.

After the success of the rope, I decided it was important to finish a work.  This semester has been full of experimentation, so the production rate of finished work has slowed down slightly.  I have decided to start making tiny sculptures each day, or at the very least every other day, in order to keep my production rate at its best and to keep myself from feeling that I am in a rut due to the lack of making.  In the photo above is my latest tiny sculpture, “Untitled, 2014”.  Made from found object and the sample rope I finished, I found it to be rather successful.  It also brought me much happiness to have finished a piece for the first time this week.  The goal is to make more during this week, along with keeping up with the daily experimentation.

For more about my processes and photos of work, please follow my instagram: artistinspired0217

Handmade Rope from recycled materials such as plastic and yarn.

Handmade Rope from recycled materials such as plastic and yarn.

 

Leave a Reply

